antalya escort bayan
bodrum escort
kurtkoy escort
ankara escort
escort cesme escort denizli
bokep barat
asyabahis maltcasino olabahis olabahis
istanbul rus escort

State News

13 Sidecars take to the track to race for the Eurocars Jeff Gittus Memorial

This Saturday night-"Make Smoking History Pinjar Park Track"

  • 31 January 2019
  • Posted By: Linda
  • Number of views: 686
13 Sidecars take to the track to race for the Eurocars Jeff Gittus Memorial

The Speedway Club of WA have had their premium solo event for this season at the new “Make Smoking History Pinjar Park” track and now it’s time for the BIG sidecar event.

The Eurocars 2019 Jeff Gittus Memorial is this Saturday night, the 2nd of February 2019, join speedway fans across the land as the biggest and maddest names in local sidecar history come together and celebrate the life and legacy of one of the greatest speedway talents to come out of Western Australia.

Jeff Gittus was a monumental part of our sport and growth of The Speedway Club of WA so it’s fitting that those who knew or knew of him, reunite once a year to honour Jeff and put on a fantastic show in his name.


This year there will be a full field of at least thirteen 1000cc sidecar machines plus solo’s along with the cracking junior racers to excite your whole family. Put this one down in your calendar, you won’t want to miss it!

There will be two father and son combinations of Jeff/ Daniel Bishop with Darren/ Arron Nash, Kalgoorlie rider Rock Bryan/ Brayden Wells, newly minted rider Kenny Hankin / Paul White; current  #2 WA Title Holder Reece Liptrott /Jesse Thomas and no3 Adam Wenn / Morgan Cornwall, Clayton Mills/Steve McQueen, Scott Charsley/ Jamie Thomson, Brothers Ryan/Adam Fanderlinden, Chad Harvey/Nathan Metcalf, Russell Mitchell/ Andrew Sharp defending his win from last season, Steve Scoble/ Joey Furfaro and Josh Wells/Clinton Holmwood take to the Pinjar Park complex for a night of sidecar riding.

This is the first running of the Jeff Gittus Memorial event on the newly completed senior track with most outfits returning to their garages and fine tuning their outfits as they adjust to a quicker surface and angles on the turns.

Who will take home the silverware for this prestigious event on the West Australian Calendar?

Gates open at 4pm, the Junior program commences at 5pm including balance bikes, rider parade at 6.30 and sidecar and solo action at 7pm. Tickets $25 for adults and kids under 16 are FREE!

As the competitors gear up to the Jeff Gittus Memorial this weekend, we have the first of the sidecar teams to introduce to you. Stay tuned to the “Make Smoking History Pinjar Park” Facebook page for more updates during the week:

Jeff/Daniel Bishop

These boys have had an up and down season to say the least! With good showings at Kalgoorlie and Albany, they then had two consecutive meetings at Pinjar where they finished upside down. The most recent meeting saw them have a clean run, however chose to pull out early to conserve the bike and bodies. Jeff has always loved racing the Gittus meeting, so expect a good performance.

Clayton Mills/Steve McQueen

This pair has had a good showing all season. They have finished towards the pointy end in every meeting, and managed to grab the win in the final at the Rob Woffinden Classic. Rumour has it Clayton has gone all out for this meeting and with the great Glenn O’Brien in his corner spinning spanners he will surely be looking to back up last meetings results!

Adam Wenn/Morgan Cornwell

The current WA #3 team of Wenn and Cornwell are riding great this season. Adam rode the machine straight to the A final on state title night and will surely be looking to do the same this weekend. Word is the blacked out 78 machine is already prepped and ready for battle. Unfortunately last meeting he struggled with the heavier passenger, but with Morgan back on-board they will be looking for redemption come Saturday night.

Steve Scoble / Joey Furfaro

Steve Scoble has had a successful racing career in the Northwest towns of Derby and Broome - often racing against Scott Charsley, Mick Sita and Ralph McQueen when they came to race the Donny Archer Memorial and Shinju Matsuri Festivals - Steve (Scobes as he was known) and his passengers Dude and Woodley also raced Kununurra, Port Hedland and Tom Price . Steve stopped racing when Doug and Gaynor joined the junior ranks at Pinjar Park, hopping back on the sidecar with daughter Gaynor as his regular passenger and Joey Furfaro as his back up for this season. Steve is on a new bike this season and enjoying getting it around the track, tonight he is with Joey Furfaro who has had a solo career at Pinjar.


THE Jeff Gittus Sidecar Memorial honours a great speedway champion in the late Jeff Gittus, who lost his life in a tragic road accident in May 2013.

Jeff Gittus rose to prominence as a sidecar passenger for Dennis Nash.

The Dennis Nash/Jeff Gittus combination won the Australian Sidecar Championship in the 1987-88 season at the Claremont Speedway and again the following summer in Mildura.

The "Dynamic Duo" also took out the WA title on three occasions - 1986-87, 1988-89 and 1991-92.

They also finished second in 1987-88 and third in 1989-90.

Nash and Gittus were inducted into the Speedway Australia Hall of Fame in 2011.

Jeff Gittus served as the president of the Speedway Motor Cycle Club of WA, he was also in the pits helping his daughter Carley from the time she first started racing in the Junior Solo division at the Bibra Lake Speedway.

The Jeff Gittus Memorial for Sidecars was first staged at the Pinjar Park Speedway in 2014.

The Russell Mitchell/Juston Winchester combination won all four of their heat races and then downed Tony Shield and Vince Gianoncelli in the final.

A year later Mitchell/Winchester again swept the program in brilliant fashion, with their final victory coming over Darren Nash and John Low.

The 2016 event saw Scott Charsley and Paul Clarke both finish the heat races with 11 out of a possible 12 points.

Charsley then led home Jeff Bishop and Clarke in the final.

In 2017 Charsley was undefeated in the heats; however he touched the tapes in the final and was excluded.

This mishap allowed Russell Mitchell to notch his third success in the Jeff Gittus event when he led home Jeff Bishop in the decider.

Last year impressive newcomer Reece Liptrott won all four of his heat races.

All three competitors in the exciting final had a turn out in front, at the final flag it was Mitchell claiming his fourth victory over Charsley and Liptrott.




1. Russell Mitchell/Juston Winchester

2. Tony Shield/Ash Brown

3. Vince Gianoncelli/Andy Gajek


1. Russell Mitchell/Juston Winchester

2. Darren Nash/Peter Teale

3. John Low/Andy Gajek


1. Scott Charsley/Matt Reese

2. Jeff Bishop/Jason Bishop

3. Paul Clarke/Brett Wingate


1. Russell Mitchell/Andy Gajek

2. Jeff Bishop/Daniel Bishop

3. Scott Charsley/Matt Reese


1. Russell Mitchell/Andrew Sharp

2. Scott Charsley/Matt Reece

3. Reece Liptrott/Andy Gajek

Schedule · Saturday, February 2, 2019

4:00 PM Spectator Gates Open

5:00 PM Junior Program and Balance Bikes

6:30 PM Rider Parade

7:00 PM Sidecar and Solo action!

Tickets · $25 Kids Under 16 FREE




Categories: News

Website Login

Copyright © 2015. Motorcycling WA Ltd.