antalya escort bayan
bodrum escort
bokep barat
escort cesme escort denizli
kurtkoy escort


erotik film
ankara escort
Free Desi Scandal gratis porno puttanahd pretoporno

State News

Rob Woffinden-the man behind the event, the track & the champion


  • 5 December 2018
  • Posted By: Linda
  • Number of views: 16316
Rob Woffinden-the man behind the event, the track & the champion

Ken Brown first ventured up to the Pinjar Park Speedway during its construction stages.

The track was down but little else was finished.

He took a few photos and then the guy who was doing laps on the grader stopped and had a chat with him.

The hard worker on the grader was Rob Woffinden - one of the many volunteers who toiled to complete this track - and of course the same is being done right now for the new 320 metre oval.

As many would know, Rob Woffinden rode Speedway in England - between 1978 and 1993 actually.

He was a resident rider at the Claremont Speedway and won the 1987-88 WA Solo Championship.


With his wife Sue and son Tai (aged 3) Rob emigrated to Western Australia where he became involved with Speedway once again.
When Tai decided to ride Speedway, Rob and hs family were right behind him.
They sold up and returned to England when Tai was 15 years old and lived in a caravan to make ends meet.
Tai progressed through the ranks and in 2010 was named as an entrant in the Speedway World Championship Grand Prix Series.


His father Rob had been in the pits every night that he raced, but sadly was diagnosed with terminal cancer and did not get to see Tai compete in the Grand Prix Series.
Tai finished 14th in the 2010 competition and did not get another chance until 2013.

This time around he was a 500/1 chance but won the World Championship, despite breaking his collarbone on two occasions.

He set up his World title with an emotional victory in the Rob Woffinden Classic here at Pinjar Park in December 2012.
Tai was fourth in 2014, Champion again in 2015, 2nd in 2016 and 3rd last year.
Rob Woffinden would have been a very proud father.



Rob Woffinden was first honoured with the running of the Woffy Westernapolis event here at the Pinjar Park Speedway in November 2009.
After his death in January 2010 - aged only 47 - the Rob Woffinden Classic became the highlight of the racing season.
Below are some of the highlights of the event.   


World Under 21 Champion Darcy Ward (Qld) notched five wins from five starts in the heats and then led home Sam Masters (NSW), Joe Haines (UK) and 
Taylor Poole (NSW) in the 10-lap final.

ROB WOFFINDEN CLASSIC #1 - November 2010
The first running of the Rob Woffinden Classic saw Speedway Grand Prix rider Fredrik Lindgren (Sweden) prove too strong for Ty Proctor (Vic), 
Steve Johnston (WA) and Ricky Kling (Sweden) in the final.
The last chance qualifier went to Kling over British riders Simon Stead and Joe Haines.
Tai Woffinden, son of the late Rob Woffinden, came down while making a big outside charge for the lead.

ROB WOFFINDEN CLASSIC #2 - November 2011
American Ricky Wells emerged victorious in the second running of the Rob Woffinden Classic at the Pinjar Park Speedway.
The final saw Wells cross the line ahead of Simon Stead (UK), who was excluded for having both wheels on the infield.
This elevated Ty Proctor (Vic) to second spot ahead of veteran rider Frank Smart.
The last chance qualifier went to Proctor over Rasmus Jensen (Demark ) and Ricky Kling (Sweden).
Cameron Woodward (Vic) was battling it out for the lead with Proctor but was excluded for having two wheels on the grass.

ROB WOFFINDEN CLASSIC #3 - December 2012
Tai Woffinden, son of the late Rob Woffinden, was a class above the opposition on the night, winning all of his five heat races, his semi final and 
then the all-important final.
Sweden's Ricky Kling finished second ahead of the defending titleholder Ricky Wells (USA) and Daniel Winchester.
Woffinden's success was the start of an incredible 2013 season in which the British born, but WA raised Woffinden became the FIM Speedway World Champion.



ROB WOFFINDEN CLASSIC #4 - November 2013
American youngster Gino Manzares blitzed the opposition to take out the fourth running of the Rob Woffinden Classic.
Manzares notched 14 out of a possible 15 points in the heats, equal to Jason Doyle (NSW).
Manzares and Doyle won their respective semi finals and the final saw Manzares lead home Rohan Tungate (NSW), Doyle and Matej Kus (Czech Republic).

ROB WOFFINDEN CLASSIC #5 - November 2014
Danish rider Rasmus Jensen triumphed in an eventful final of the Rob Woffinden Classic.
Entering Pits Bend in the final Jensen came down and the referee excluded British rider Kyle Howarth from the rerun.
Jensen went on to win the event over Kyle Newman (UK) and Matej Kus (Czech Republic).
Eight visting riders from six different countries contested the annual event.

Talented British youngster Josh Bates took the honours in the sixth running of the Rob Woffinden Classic.
Local Daniel Winchester, who topped the heat race pointscore, was quick to begin from gate #1, with Bates and Cameron Heeps dicing for second spot.
Veteran Frank Smart came down on pits bend, then the race leader Winchester had the misfortune to have his seat bracket come loose.
Winchester was then forced out when his chain came adrift, leaving Bates in front of Heeps.

Local star Cameron Heeps became the first WA winner of the annual bike classic.
Heeps scored 14 points in the heat races and then led all the way in the final.
Daniel Winchester and Kale Ballantyne filled the minor places.
English rider Ben Morley was dicing with Winchester for second spot when he slid sideways entering turn one and came down.
Fellow Brits Ellis Perks and Tyler Govier all struggled in their early rides on the testing little 142 metre Pinjar Park circuit. 
1. Darcy Ward (Qld)
2. Sam Masters (NSW)
3. Joe Haines (UK)
4. Taylor Poole (NSW)

1. Fredrik Lindgren (Sweden)
2. Ty Proctor (Vic)
3. Steve Johnston (WA)
4. Ricky Kling (Sweden)

November 2011
1. Ricky Wells (USA)
2. Ty Proctor (Vic)
3. Frank Smart (WA)
4. Simon Stead (UK) Excluded

December 2012
1. Tai Woffinden (UK)
2. Ricky Kling (Sweden)
3. Ricky Wells (USA)
4. Daniel Winchester (WA)

November 2013
1. Gino Manzares (USA)
2. Rohan Tungate (NSW)
3. Jason Doyle (NSW)
4. Matej Kus (Czech Republic)

November 2014
1. Rasmus Jensen (Denmark)
2. Kyle Newman (UK)
3. Matej Kus (Czech Republic) 
4. Kyle Howarth (UK)

January 2016
1. Josh Bates (UK)
2. Cameron Heeps (WA)
3. Daniel Winchester (WA) Retired
4. Frank Smart (WA) Fell

January 2017
1. Cameron Heeps (WA)
2. Daniel Winchester (WA)
3. Kale Ballantyne (WA)
4. Ben Morley (UK) Fell


For more information see Speedway Club of WA website-HERE

Follow Speedway Club of WA on facebook HERE 

Facebook Event Details HERE  

Awesome footage from 2017 HERE 




Categories: News

Website Login

Copyright © 2015. Motorcycling WA Ltd.

Why Do Cats Eat Grass? British Shorthair Cat